Max Express

I saw Mr Thembinkosi Ntshingila for an eye test recently. He was born in 1957.
I told him I knew a Mr Max Ntshingila in Harrismith many moons ago, who owned a fleet of busses.
He said “Hayibo! That’s my Dad!!”

Strictly speaking Max was his uncle, but his Dad died when he was very young and his uncle Max took him in and raised him as his own in Phomolong.

He told me that besides the buses (remember “Max Express”? yellow and green, I seem to remember) Max owned two shops, plus a petrol station in Swaziland.

Max died in 1978 aged 60. His empire collapsed when he died, as his kids “were spoilt” and “none of them could manage anything”.

Max had sent Thembinkosi to college and he ended up in Durban working for Engen or Sapref or one of those places. Retired now, he plays the horses for fun and I see him at the tote on the roof of our centre quite often.

I had wondered vaguely these years about something, and Thembinkosi had the answer for me:
That cream coloured yank tank Max drove was a Chev Biscayne.

1963_chevrolet_biscayne-pic-9465

He still goes to Harrismith regularly to look after the house in Phomolong where he was raised.
One of his nieces lives in it.
Leon Strachan sent me some pictures: (Note how Dr Frank Mdlalose, who we only got to know of post-1994, when he became KwaZulu Natal’s first Premier, was a house guest of the Ntshingila’s in Harrismith).
Max Express 3
Max Express 4
Leave a Reply

